Skip to content

Posts tagged ‘mentions’

New Options For Sharing: Limiting Mentions and Customizing Auto-Publish Messages

Everyone has their own way they like to do things and that doesn’t stop when it comes to the social web. Summifyers of all sorts fancy the ability to automatically publish their new summaries to Twitter or Facebook, making sharing easier than ever, but this feature isn’t quite right for everyone. In an effort to accommodate the differing preferences of Summifyers, we’ve adjusted how we use mentions and given you the ability to customize auto-publish messages, improving the Summify experience for everyone.

Twitter Mentions are now limited

You may have noticed Twitter messages promoting a user’s summary and thanking those who have contributed to it:

“Summify iPhone Update 1.1″ and other stories in my summary http://smf.is/6qloN (via @mirceapasoi and @cgst)

These mentions are enjoyed by most Summifyers, but every now and again we get a request to stop someone’s mentions, and that’s fair enough, because if you have a large following you’re bound to see a few of these shout-outs. To find a balance, we’ve now limited mentions to once-a-day per user. Note – we cannot stop anyone from manually mentioning your name when they share on twitter.

If you still find yourself feeling that once a day is too much, simply log in to the Twitter account for which you’d like your mentions stopped and tweet “@SummaryMentions stop mentions”.

Customizing auto-publish messages

At the bottom of the Notifications area you’ll now see a text box which previews your auto-publish messages. As you adjust your settings, you will notice the message changing to reflect them. Click the refresh button in the top right hand corner of the text box to cycle through some sample messages.

You have two options here:

1. Use one of Summify’s stock messages and choose to mention people or not:

Unchecked box (default) – auto-publish messages may mention the names of your summary’s contributors

Checked box – auto-publish messages will not mention any names besides @summify

2. Customize your message by clicking the box that says “Let me choose my own message” and filling in the text box. Once you’ve entered some text, click outside of the box to see a preview of your message.

Stories are meant to be shared. Play around with the new options and find a setup that works best for your sharing style. If you find a favorite way to share your summaries using the new settings let us know – we’d love to hear about it. Summify is for you after all, so don’t be shy to share your experiences, ideas, questions, problems or praise. Drop us a line anytime!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers